New ASAPS and ASERF Presidents Named

Following The Aesthetic Meeting held in Montreal May 14 to 18, James C. Grotting, M.D., was elected the new president of the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS). Grotting is currently in private practice in Birmingham, Alabama. He is former president of the Southeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons, a clinical professor of plastic surgery at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and a director and oral examiner for the American Board of Plastic Surgery. “While it has been an honor and privilege to have served as ASAPS President for the past year, I can think of no better colleague to hand the reins to than Dr. Grotting,” says Michael Edwards, M.D., former president of ASAPS. “A noted lecturer, teacher, clinician, and true thought leader in our specialty, he will use his educational experience and fair, balanced judgment to lead The Aesthetic Society in shaping the aesthetic landscape.”

The ASAPS research and education arm, the Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation (ASERF) also elected a new president: Neal R. Reisman, M.D. Reisman pioneered the split-muscle natural breast augmentation and short-scar mini-facelifts, and served as the chief of surgery at numerous hospitals in the Houston area. He obtained his law degree from South Texas College of Law and has lectured and written extensively on cosmetic surgery, ethics and the business of plastic surgery, as well as medicolegal issues relating to plastic surgery. “As my successor, Reisman is a proven leader with vast experience which will serve well to advance ASERF’s mission, shaping the aesthetic surgery landscape through evidence-based research findings that benefit patients, physicians and the entire field of medicine,” says Al Aly, M.D., who served as the president of ASERF for the past year.