Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa, Kota Kinabalu Receives Condé Nast Travellers Readers' Award

Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu received the Condé Nast Traveller Readers’ Travel Award 2010 for being one of the “Top 20 Best Hotels in Asia and the Indian Subcontinent”. The hotel was also named one of the “Top 25 Spa Hotels and Resorts” and “Top 25 Leisure Hotels and Resorts” in the Best in Travel Poll 2010 by


The resort was placed sixth in the Condé Nast Traveller Readers’ Travel Award 2010 with an average index score of 86.71. The Readers Travel Awards questionnaire is based on criteria such as overall guest satisfaction with travel facilities, service and value for money. Condé Nast Traveller, the world’s premier travel magazine with an estimated readership of over 1 million readers worldwide and it is the foremost authority in unbiased travel and destination reporting.

Separately, Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu is also the recipient of two coveted awards from’s Best in Travel Poll 2010. The Best In Travel Poll awards, now in its sixth year, is organised by, a dedicated Asian online travel magazine known for its independent reviews on hotels, luxury resorts, spas, destination cities, airlines and airports.

The award poll is the result of’s readers’ perceptions and favourite travel brands based on hands-on travel experience, word of mouth and brand exposure.

“This is a true endorsement for us, as these awards were nominated by readers worldwide, bringing our recognition as a five-star resort to the next level,” said Andrew Steele, general manager of Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu.

Hong Kong-based Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts currently owns and/or manages 68 hotels under the Shangri-La and Traders brands with a rooms inventory of over 30,000.

Shangri-La hotels are five-star deluxe properties featuring extensive luxury facilities and services.

Shangri-La hotels are located in Australia, Canada, mainland China, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Philippines, Singapore, Sultanate of Oman, Taiwan, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates.

The group has over 40 projects under development in Austria, Canada, mainland China, France, India, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Mongolia, Russia, Qatar, Seychelles, Turkey and United Kingdom.