ISPA Elects 2017 Board of Directors and Officers

The International Spa Association (ISPA) has announced the new board of directors and officers, whose terms will begin at the ISPA board meeting in January. Each elected chairman and officer was selected from a pool of candidates following an extensive nomination and interview process. Newly elected chairman Todd Shaw, who is the spa director at The Spa at The Peaks (Telluride, CO), will lead the 2017 board. Joining Shaw are the following officers:

Todd Hewitt, corporate director of spa, health clubs, and recreation for Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, to serve as vice chairman

Garrett Mersberger, director of Kohler Waters Spas (multiple locations), to serve as secretary and treasurer

Michael Tompkins, recruiter for Hutchinson Consulting, will continue to serve as the immediate past chairman

The 2017 board members are:

Scott Duncan, president and partner, Spa Gregorie's (multiple locations, CA)

Patrick Huey, corporate spa director, Sandals Resorts International (SRI)

Joshua Luckow, executive director of health & healing, Canyon Ranch

Robert Vance, managing director, Well & Being Spa at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess (AZ)

This year’s re-elected incumbent directors are:

Noel Asmar, president and CEO, Noel Asmar Group

Blake Feeney, vice president of business development, Chaleur Beauty

ISPA members are able to participate in the association’s growth and success by applying to serve on the 2017 ISPA Volunteer Committee. Applications can be accessed through ISPA’s website and all applications must be received by Nov. 30, 2016. “We are grateful for the dedication of those who step up each year and apply to serve their association,” says president Lynne McNees. “We are overwhelmed by the volume of exceptional members who apply each year. It is always a difficult process to narrow down the candidates.” The application process for the 2018 ISPA board of directors will launch this spring.