Massage Therapy Foundation Announces New Board Members

The Massage Therapy Foundation (MTF) has announced three new members of its board of trustees. The foundation is welcoming Adrienne F. Asta, BA, LMT; Jen Dexheimer, BS, LMT; and Nathan Nordstrom to the board. At this time, two current board members, Jeff Smoot and Kate Zulaski, BA, CMT, BCTMB, are finishing up their time on the board. Asta and Dexheimer will both serve two-year terms, while Nordstrom will sit for one.

Asta, who has been practicing massage since 2001, holds a certification in neuromuscular therapy and prenatal massage. She serves as the chairperson for the Community Services Grant Proposal Review Committee for the Foundation, as well as serving as a volunteer with the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) both locally and nationally over the last decade.

Dexheimer, a licensed massage therapist from Illinois, has worked in research at the National University of Health Sciences (NUHS) for nearly 18 years. She’s the co-founder of MassageNet, a practice-based research network for massage therapists. She has been volunteering for MTF for the past six years, having recently served as a volunteer on both the Student and Practitioner Case Report Committees and as chair of the workgroups for scientific submissions to the AMTA National Conventions, as well as the Foundation’s International Massage Therapy Research Conference.

Nordstrom joins the MTF board as the Immediate-Past President of the American Massage Therapy Association. A licensed massage therapist of Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Georgia, Nordstrom is also a board certified massage therapist and bodyworker (BCMTB). He has been a massage therapy teacher since 2004, and since then has become a nationally-recognized continuing education provider. He’s also served as an examiner for the Oregon Board of Massage Therapy (OBMT). “I am thrilled to welcome these new members to the board of trustees and am looking forward to working with these extraordinary individuals,” says Jerrilyn Cambron, LMT, DC, MPH, Ph.D, president of the Massage Therapy Foundation. “We look forward to your input at the board table.”